Made it to the beach, and nothing bad happened!

Rex had been up all night playing video games, so he was pretty tired. He's a trooper for going with me at 9 AM anyway!

Rex had been up all night playing video games, so he was pretty tired. He’s a trooper for going with me at 9 AM anyway!

Today I drove myself to the beach!

This is a huge milestone for me, seeing as I only recently was able to conquer driving around the block comfortably.

Okay, so I live really close to the beach. It’s like a five minute drive. But it still involves going through two traffic lights (I get especially panicky at traffic lights), and gazing at a wide open space (another thing that can set off anxiety for me).

Last week I drove to where I could see the harbor. I wanted to be able to drive to the beach, and it has been one of my biggest goals for months. A month ago, driving and just looking at the beach seemed impossible – but today I did it. I also managed to pick up a latte on my way there! And Rex came along for support, and it was lovely.

I didn’t stay for very long, and I didn’t actually set foot on the beach, but I know that I will soon.

Leave a Reply

